New Walkthroughs for vCenter High Availability

Two new walkthroughs has been announced for vCenter High availability on the VMware Feature Walkthroughs site. These two new click by click product walkthroughs will shows how to enable vCenter High Availability and gives the confidence which needs to use this new feature.

VCenter High Availability Overview

 If someone is not familiar with vCenter High Availability, it is a newly introduced feature in vSphere 6.5 and completely available for the vCenter Appliance (VCSA). When vCenter HA is capacitate a three node vCenter Server cluster (Active, Passive and witness nodes) is redistribute. VCenter HA offers an RTO of about 5 Minutes for vCenter Server greatly abbreviating the percussion of host, hardware and application failures with automatic failover between the Active and Passive nodes. VCenter HA includes with the vCenter Server Standard license which means that no additional licensing is needed. VCenter HA can also be accredit, confined or abolished at any time allowing customers to easily take advantage of this new capability. There is also an alimentation mode that prevents planned maintenance from causing an unwanted failover.

From an architecture aspect, vCenter HA supports both encapsulated and external Platform Services Controllers. An encapsulated Platform Service Controller instance can be used when there are no other vCenter Server or Platform Services instances within the single sign on domain. In some other words, an external Platform Services Controller instance is needed when there are various vCenter Server instances in an Enhanced Linked Mode configuration. When using vCenter HA with an external Platform Services Controller categorization, an external load balancer is needed to offer high availability to the Platform Services Controller instances. There are little catch of using vCenter HA without also gives high availability at the Platform Services Controller layer. Bolstered load balancers for Platform Services Controller instances in vSphere 6.5 include VMware NSX, F5 BIG IP LTM and Citrix NetScaler.

You may also like to learn  What’s New in VSphere 6.5: vCenter management clients

Deploying vCenter High Availability

 There are two new walkthroughs has been created which will demonstrate the two ways in which vCenter HA can be redistribute – Basic and Advanced

The basic workflow can be applied in most synopsis in which all vCenter HA nodes work with in the same array. As its name suggests this workflow is very simple and automatically creates the passive and witness nodes. It also creates VMware vSphere allotted resource Scheduler antiaffnity rules if vSphere DRS is accredit on the destination cluster and uses VMware vSphere Storage DRS for initial placement if capacitate. Some affability is built into this workflow, so one can choose specific designed hosts, data stores and networks for each node. This is a very easy, simple way to get a vCenter HA cluster up and running.

The Advanced workflow is the substitute that can be used when the active, passive, and witness nodes are to be expand to different clusters, vCenter Server instances or even other data centers. This mode requires the users to manually duplicate locations with the appropriate IP address settings. This is more involved process, but it capacitates greater flexibility for those users that require it.

You can also go for our VMware Training in Delhi





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *